Senate ongoeing

January 29, 2007

Things remain in flux in the Legislative Plaza bunker.  The hallways are packed with office supplies from Senator Wilder’s office.  Chairs, wall portraits, filing cabinets are all strewn about with little regard for order.  Apparently they are repainting the Lt. Governor’s office for Senator Ramsey.  I never saw the old color, but the City Paper described it as a bat cave.

They came and took my computer today.  Apparently interns that aren’t assigned to a chairman don’t get a comp.  I’ve been speaking to Nancy about fenangling something for me.

Senator Wilder poked his head in the office earlier.  He said he’s John Wilder, and he’s gonna go on being John Wilder.  Because no one can stop him from being John Wilder.

I really hope things will be settled here by the State of the State Address on Monday.  Everyone here is pensive, not knowing exactly what is going to happen.  This is the cold hard reality of a power transfer.  I had always read about such things in the pages of Roll Call, but it’s no longer an academic question for me.

The highlight of last week came Friday, when I had lunch with Senator Henry.  He’s an extremely intelligent man.  Very knowledgeable in history.  Not just American history either, but all kinds.  Anyone who knows me knows that I have a deep respect for historians.  He and I hit it off quite well I thought, talking about everything from the U.S.S. Constitution to the Tokugawa Shogunate.

One Response to “Senate ongoeing”


  1. Wow, That’s the only time I think I’ve seen the Tokugawa Shogunate used outside Brock Hall. And we all want John Wilder to keep on being John Wilder, because John Wilder dammit.


Leave a comment